Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships 2021/22: Study in UK - Nigeria Boom

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships 2021/22: Study in UK

Share This

Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships Description

The Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships is initiated to help sponsor candidates from eligible lower and upper middle income Commonwealth countries to undertake full-time taught Master’s study at a University in the United Kingdom (UK).

This prestigious scholarship programme is funded by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO). The Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships are targeted towards individuals who are talented and motivated to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development and may not be able to afford to study in the UK.

Commonwealth Master's Scholarship

Host Institution(s):

UK universities with part funding agreements

Host Country:

United Kingdom (UK)

Eligibility Countries:

Eligible Commonwealth Countries. View the full list of all Commonwealth countries



Study Level:


Field of Study:

The Commonwealth scholarships are offered under six development themes;

1.     Science and technology for development

2.     Strengthening health systems and capacity

3.     Promoting global prosperity

4.     Strengthening global peace, security and governance

5.     Strengthening resilience and response to crises

6.     Access, inclusion and opportunity

Value of Scholarship:

Each scholarship will cover the initial arrival allowance, airfare to and from the United Kingdom, tuition and examination fees, stipend, thesis grant (if applicable) and others.

Number of Awards:



To be eligible for the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarship, applicants must take note of the following;

·        Be a citizen of a Commonwealth eligible country or have been granted refugee status by a Commonwealth eligible country or be a British Protected Person.

·        Be a permanent resident in an eligible Commonwealth country

·        Be present at the start of your academic studies in the UK\

·        Hold a first degree of at least second class upper (2:1) honours standard or a second class degree and relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). The CSC would not normally sponsor a second Master’s degree programme. If you are planning to undertake a second master’s degree programme, you would need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this programme.

·        Not be able to fund or afford to study in the United Kingdom without this scholarship

·        Not be registered for a PhD or an MPhil leading to a PhD at a UK university or in your country before September/ October 2021

·        Have provided all the necessary documentation in the required format


Application Process:

Firstly, you must apply through one of these nominating bodies: national nominating agencies (this is the main route of application) or selected non-governmental organizations and charitable bodies.

Nominating bodies are responsible for the selection process. It is therefore important that you adhere to the rules of the nominating body you choose to work with.

Next, you must submit an application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS) in addition to any other application form that you submitted to your nominating body. The CSC will not qualify any applicants who miss out on any of these steps.

You should read the 2021 Commonwealth Scholarship and Conditions for more details.

Please visit the official website which is found below for application date and deadline

Official Website:

Be sure to visit the official scholarship websites; for more details






No comments:

Post a comment